Dmitri Tcherniakov, Direction

Portrait von Dmitri Tcherniakov

Dmitri Tcherniakov

Dmitri Tcherniakov was born in Moscow 1970. He finished his studies at the Russian Academy of Performing Arts in 1993. Tcherniakov is designing the sets of his productions entirely himself, sometimes even the costumes. He was awarded with several international prizes, including Italy’s Franco Abbiati Prize and Russia’s most prestigious theatre prize, the Golden Mask.

Mussorgski’s Boris Godunow at Berlin’s Staatsoper marked the beginning of a partnership with the conductor Daniel Barenboim. It was followed by several productions, Prokofjew’s The Gambler, Rimsky-Korsakows The Zsar’s Bride and Wagner’s Parsifal.

Tschaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin, presented in several major houses, Berg’s Wozzeck and Glinka’s Ruslan und Ludmilla at the Bolschoi Theater Moscow, Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde and Glinka’s A Life for the Zsar at the Mariinski-Theatre St. Petersburg, Schostakowitsch’s Lady Macbeth from Mzensk at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein, London’s ENO and Lyon, Verdi’s Macbeth at the Paris Opéra, Mozart’s Don Giovanni at the Festival Aix-en-Provence, in Madrid and at the Bolschoi Theatre solidified his European reputation.

Mussorgski’s Chovanshtshina, Poulenc’ Dialogues des Carmélites, Berg/Cerhas Lulu in Munich und Verdi’s Simon Boccanegra, premiered originally at London’s English National Opera (ENO) contributed to his broad success in Germany, Verdi’s La traviata in Milano und Borodin’s Prince Igor at the Metropolitan Opera New York bolstered his intercontinental fame.

Outstanding amongst the highlights of his career are certainly Rimski-Korsakows The Legend from the Unvisible City of Kitesh and from the Virgin Fevronia in Amsterdam, Verdi’s Il trovatore in Brussels as well as his stagings at the Zurich Opera, dedicated to Janáček’s Jenufa und Debussy’s Pelléas et Melisande.

Outstanding amongst his work catalogue is certainly the artistic challenge to recreate Tchaikovsky’s opera Iolanta and the ballet The Nutcracker due to the original double bill. It was the Paris Opéra to undertake so huge a challenge successfully.


Dmitri Tcherniakov’s Calendar

Keine Veranstaltungen

Dmitri Tcherniakov, Regie

Portrait von Dmitri Tcherniakov

Dmitri Tcherniakov

Dmitri Tcherniakov wurde 1970 in Moskau geboren. Sein Studium an der Russischen Akademie der Darstellenden Künste schloss er 1993 ab. Tcherniakov entwirft die Bühnenbilder seiner Produktionen ausnahmslos selbst, des öfteren auch die Kostüme. Er ist Träger zahlreicher Auszeichnungen, darunter der italienische Franco Abbiati Preis und die Goldene Maske, Rußlands bedeutendster Theaterpreis.

Mussorgskis Boris Godunow an der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin markierte den Beginn einer engen künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Dirigenten Daniel Barenboim, der weitere gemeinsame Produktionen folgten: Prokofiews Der Spieler, Rimski-Korsakows Die Zarenbraut und Wagners Parsifal.

Tschaikowskys Eugene Onegin, in zahlreichen Metropolen gezeigt, Wozzeck und Glinkas Ruslan und Ludmilla am Bolschoi Theater Moskau, Wagners Tristan und Isolde und Glinkas Ein Leben für den Zaren am Mariinski-Theater St. Petersburg, Schostakowitschs Lady Macbeth aus Mzensk an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein, in Londons ENO und in Lyon, Verdis Macbeth an der Pariser Opéra und Simon Boccanegra an der ENO, Mozarts Don Giovanni in Aix-en-Provence, Madrid und am Bolschoi Theater festigten seinen Ruf.

Mussorgskis Chowanschtschina, Poulenc’ Dialogues des Carmélites und Berg/Cerhas Lulu in München vertieften seine künstlerische Anerkennung in Deutschland, Verdis La traviata in Mailand und Borodins Fürst Igor an der Metropolitan Opera New York erweiterten zugleich das internationale Ansehen.

Zu den weiteren Höhepunkten seiner Arbeit gehören Rimski-Korsakows Die Legende von der unsichtbaren Stadt Kitesch und von der Jungfrau Fewronia in Amsterdam, Verdis Il trovatore in Brüssel sowie seine bisherigen Arbeiten am Opernhaus Zürich, Janáčeks Jenufa und Debussys Pelléas et Melisande.

Ein Projekt von besonderem Anspruch war seine inhaltliche Neuinterpretation von Tschaikowskys Oper Iolanta und dem Ballett Der Nußknacker, die Kombination der Uraufführungen, an der Pariser Opéra im März 2016. Sie wird 2017/18 wieder aufgenommen.