Andriy Zholdak, Direction

Portrait von Andriy Zholdak

Andriy Zholdak

Andriy Zholdak, born in Kiev in 1962, is a Ukrainian director. He was educated at Anatoli Vassiljevs Theatre School in Moscow. His longtime affinity with movies and Fine Arts were strong influences on his development and his style as a director. He names Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Sergei Paradschanow and Andrej Arsenjevitch Tarkowski amongst his artistic idols.

Andriy Zholdak who is mostly responsible for the stage and costume designs of his productions as well was highly successful as the Artistic Director of Charkiv’s Taras Shevtchenko Theatre from 2002 till 2005. No less than five of his successful stagings were invited to major international festivals.

Andriy Zholdak moved to Berlin in 2005. His work as a freelace director led him to numerous stages all over Europe. His practical work as a director was the origin of his theories about the Universal Artist and his Quantentheater der Zukunft, a vision he has promoted in many lectures and workshops.

His directorial work was honored widely. Andriy Zholdak received the UNESCO Performing Arts Award in 2004 and Russia’s most prestigious prize, the Golden Mask, in 2014. The prize winning production was his staging of Tchaikovsky’s Eugen Onegin at St. Peterburg’s Michailovsky Theatre. His dramatic version of Kafka’s Die Verwandlung was honored with the Oberhausener Theaterpreis in 2015, and his Electra, produced at the Macedonian National Theatre in Skopje, was awarded with four prizes altogether. He was invited to present the premiere of his stage version of Stanislav Lem’s Solaris at the Vienna Festival in 2016.

His highly successful production of Eugen Onegin has deepened Andriy Zholdaks interest in operatic work. Two remarkable, multi-layered stagings of lesser know operas were acknowledged by audiences and press recently. He staged Martinu’s Mirandolina in Giessen und Zemlinsky’s Der König Kandaules for the Vlaamse Opera. He will return to St. Petersburg to direct Bizet’s Carmen.


L'elisir d'amore, Teatr Wielki Poznań

Der König Kandaules, Vlaamse Opera, Antwerpen

Andriy Zholdak’s Calendar

Keine Veranstaltungen

Andriy Zholdak, Regie

Portrait von Andriy Zholdak

Andriy Zholdak

Andriy Zholdak, 1962 in Kiew geboren, ist ein ukrainischer Regisseur. Er hat die Theaterschule Anatoli Wassiljews in Moskau absolviert. Sein langjähriges Interesse für das Kino und die Bildende Kunst haben seine Regiearbeiten wesentlich beeinflusst, wobei Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Sergei Paradschanow und Andrej Arsenjewitsch Tarkowski zu seinen Leitbildern gehören.

Von 2002 bis 2005 leitete er das Taras Schewtschenko-Theater in Charkiw als Künstlerischer Direktor. Nicht weniger als fünf der von ihm inszenierten Stücke waren so erfolgreich, dass sie zu namhaften Festivals ausserhalb der Ukraine eingeladen worden sind.

2005 übersiedelte Andriy Zholdak nach Berlin, wo er seither lebt. Seine Arbeit als freischaffender Regisseur führt ihn an namhafte Bühnen Europas. Aus seiner theatralischen Praxis entwickelte er Theorien über den „universellen Künstler“ und das „Quantentheater der Zukunft“, die er regelmässig in Vorträgen und Workshops zu vermitteln sucht.

Seine Inszenierungen im europäischen Ausland sind mit zahlreichen Auszeichnungen gewürdigt worden. Andriy Zholdak erhielt 2004 den UNESCO Performing Arts Award und 2014 die Goldene Maske, die höchste Theaterauszeichnung Russlands, für seine Inszenierung von Tschaikowskis Eugen Onegin am Michailowski Theater St. Petersburg. Seine Dramatisierung von Franz Kafkas Die Verwandlung ist 2015 mit dem Oberhausener Theaterpreis ausgezeichnet worden, seine Bearbeitung und Inszenierung der antiken Elektra am Mazedonischen Nationaltheater in Skopje erhielt gleich vier Theaterpreise.

Der erfolgreiche und gefeierte Eugen Onegin hat Andriy Zholdaks Interesse an der Oper vertieft. Zwei bemerkenswert vielschichtige und tiefgründige Inszenierungen weniger bekannten Stücke, namentlich Martinus Mirandolina in Giessen und Zemlinskys Der König Kandaules bei der Vlaamse Opera in Antwerpen und Gent, sind beim Publikum und bei der Presse gleichermassen gut angekommen.


Der König Kandaules, Vlaamse Opera, Antwerpen

Termine von Andriy Zholdak

Keine Veranstaltungen